What Is an Ostomy Bag? How It Feels like Living with an Ostomy Bag?

Dinesh kundnani
3 min readOct 15, 2020

Trust me. It feels Super Awesome.

Yes, that's me with my ostomy bag.

Ostomy bag is a medical device which collects your waste from your body. It happens because of Colorectal cancer or Crohns or Ulcerative colitis diseases; also, it can happen to anybody who loses bowel control.

Some people are living with ostomy bag temporary or permanently depends on the personal health condition.

It was March 2017 when I got to know that I was diagnosed with colorectal cancer. It’s now more than 3+ years I am living with an ostomy bag.

When I got to know about my ostomy bag, it feels like a bizarre thing, How I am going to live my life now, How I will manage all these things and all other things, How I am going to change my bag.

But When you start accepting yourself the way you are, Your life would be changed completely. And it will become unstoppable because you know yourself now better than anyone else.

Still, there are many challenges with this ostomy bag. I have to change my bag every 5 or 6 days. Sometimes I have to manage with leakages. Sometimes it’s challenging to find out the public toilet to empty my bag in an emergency.

Countries like India and other some countries this ostomy bag doesn’t come as free. Also, it does…

--

--